V. Krishnamurthy
V. Krishnamurthy award for excellence

Dr. V. Krishnamurthy is the doyen among Indian managers. His  visionary leadership, institution building capability and pursuit of excellence, with concern for people, led to the transformation of two gigantic public enterprises – BHEL and SAIL. He also nurtured an automobile company (Maruti) which revolutionized the automobile and engineering sectors in India.

Besides the chairmanship of the three conglomerates, Dr. Krishnamurthy was also Secretary, Industries, Government of India, for three years. He was associated with a number of academic and professional institutions. During his distinguished career, he received many honors and awards, including Padmabhushan (1986) and Business Man of the year (1987).

Dr. Krishnamurthy has left a profound impact on his vision, dynamism, and humanism on everyone who came in contact with him. Centre for Organization Development had the privilege of being associated with him as chairman of the Board of Governors for 18 years.

As a mark of respect for his eminence, the COD established the V. Krishnamurthy Award for Excellence, to honor individuals who have set high standards of achievement in pursuit of excellence in their respective professions. The award carries a citation.

Eligibility Criteria

Managers in business enterprises, government organizations and NGOs as well as professionals, scientists and academics will be eligible for consideration for this award.

The following criteria for eligibility will govern the selection process.

  • The individual has achieved high standards of excellence in building organizations.
  • The individual has a track record of achieving superior organizational performance.
  • The individual has made important contribution to the community, in general.
  • The individual is recognized as leader with vision and dynamism./li>
  • The individual has demonstrated support for innovation, enterprise and development of future leadership.


  • 2000 – Mr. T.P.G. Nambiar, Chairman, BPL Group
  • 2001 – Mr. N. Vittal, Chief Vigilance Commissioner
  • 2002 – Dr. K. Kasturirangan, Chairman, ISRO
  • 2003 – Smt. Ela R. Bhatt, Founder General Secretary, SEWA
  • 2004 – Mr. Subir Raha, Chairman, ONGC
  • 2005 – Dr. Y.K. Hamied, Chairman, Cipla.
  • 2006 – Mr Baba N Kalyani, Chairman Bharat Forge Ltd
  • 2007 – Mr Udaya S Kotak (Executive Vice Chairman & Managing Director, Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd
  • 2008 – Mr. Anil Mani Bhai Naik-Chairman and Managing Director-L&T
  • 2009 – Dr.S.S.Badrinath, Founder & Chairman Emeritus, Shankar Netralaya, Chennai
  • 2010 – Mrs.Aruna Roy, the founder of Mazdoor Kisan Shakti Sangathan (MKSS)
  • 2011 – Mr. Ramadorai, Vice Chairman, Tata Consultancy Services
  • 2012 – Dr. E. Sreedharan, Principal Advisor, Delhi Metro Rail Corporation
V. Krishnamurthy
Dr.B.L.Maheshwari Award for Life Time Achievement

‘B.L.’ as he is affectionately known, chose Organization Development, Leadership, and Change as his life-work. “Institution building” was his passion. COD is the symbol of his lifelong dedication to the cause of training and research. Dr B L Maheshwari set up COD in 1980 with a vision that future challenges in management would be organizational rather than functional; professional work in this area could get sharper in a small and specialized institution rather than a large multi-functional institution – an unconventional step, a private initiative for setting up a public institution without government support or corporate affiliation.

Dr. BL Maheshwari passed away on 1st March 2009. The Board of Governors, COD felt that it should pay a fitting tribute to this outstanding institution builder by establishing a Memorial Lecture and invite distinguished speakers for the event.