Past Chairmen

Past CM 2

Dr. B L Maheshwari
Chairman (1998-2009)

Dr B L Maheshwari was the Founding Director (1980-1998) and the Chairman(1998-2009.Dr. B.L. Maheshwari (1935-2009) was a man of many talents, prodigious intellect with strong character, integrity and idealism. He established COD in 1980 as a not-for-profit initiative with support from government, major public and private corporates.

‘B.L.’ as he is affectionately known, chose Organization Development, Leadership and Change as his life-work. “Institution building” was his passion. His vision that future challenges in management would be organizational rather than functional has provided a paradigm shift in the Indian industry. He indoctrinated that the professional work in organization development could get sharper in a small and specialized institution rather than a large multi-functional institution.

Dr. Maheshwari was included in the ninth to twelfth editions of Marquis Who’s Who in the World, Reference Asia (1992), Biography International (1993), Indo-American Who’s Who (1994) and Indo European Who’s Who (1995). He has served on a number of committees and Boards.

Dr BL was a scholar, a teacher, an avid reader, an institution builder. And a Guru par excellence. He passed away in March, 2009

Past CM

Dr. V. Krishnamurthy
Chairman Emeritus (1998 – 2020)

Dr. V. Krishnamurthy, Chairman Emeritus and the first Chairman (1980 – 1998), and his leadership, institution building capability and pursuit of excellence, led to the transformation of two gigantic public enterprises – BHEL and SAIL. His nurturing an automobile conglomerate (Maruti) revolutionized the automobile and engineering sectors in India. His leadership and guidance has enabled COD to attain a leadership position in OD and related areas.

Dr. Krishnamurthy has left a profound impact of his vision, dynamism, and humanism on everyone who came in contact with him. He supported and guided COD during its formative years and he was the chairman of the Board of Governors for 18 years.

Past CM 1

Dr.Habil F Khorakiwala
Chairman (2009 – 2017)

Dr.Habil F. Khorakiwalawas the Chairman of Centre for Organization Development (2009 – 2017).

Dr.Khorakiwala is the Founder Chairman of Wockhardt Group, an alumnus of Purdue University and Harvard Business School. He was awarded Honorary Doctorate by the Pharmacy School of Purdue University. He is the only non-American and first Indian to receive the Doctorate. He was former President of FICCI and the Indian Pharmaceutical Alliance, an apex organization of the top Indian Pharmaceutical Companies.

Dr.Khorakiwala is also Honorary Consul General of Sweden in Mumbai

Shri Ramesh Gelli
Chairman – COD (2017 – 2020)
Chairman Emeritus-COD (2020 – till date)

Mr. Gelli is the only private sector banker – till date- awarded the prestigious national award of “Padma Shri” in 1991. Among many other awards, he was recognized as the “Most Outstanding Graduate” by the Asian Institute of Management, Philippines. E&Y-“Entrepreneur of the Year” -1999. He was former Chairman of Vysya Bank Ltd and Global Trust Bank Ltd; President of All India Management Association; Member on the Boards of IIM, Bangalore; ASCI, Hyderabad; Bharatidasan Institute of Management, Tiruchy. He is associated with number of NGOs.